What’s going on in Vargasdom

Hi,

We are going to try getting pictures and info out via this website.  This is a trial run to see if we like it.  It’s not as cute as our old website, but that one’s gone, alas.  To view captions with the photos you need to click on that weird little icon at the lower right of the pictures that are going by as a slide show.  There are currently three albums to pick from (scroll down to see all three listed).  One of Jose’s baby shower, one of mine, and one of misc. goings on.

Baby Vargas is still residing in my tummy although he put us (well, me) through 7 hours of prelabor on Sunday.  I guess he wanted to play with his gifts!  We had lots of fun at both baby showers and truly did feel "showered" with love.  I was so happy to get to go because the doctors had threatened to put me in the hospital on bedrest earlier in the week if my test results didn’t go well.  Now as far as I’m concerned the little guy can pop out any time he likes.  He’s big enough now (6 lbs. 3oz last Tuesday) to do just fine and we want to meet him and stop worrying!

My blood pressure is still somewhat high, and I gained 11 pounds of water weight in 2 weeks because of it.  Ack!  That is why I’m so much puffier than last month.  The doctors are doing frequent tests for preeclampsia (rapid weight gain is a sign) and keeping a close eye on me as usual.  My blood pressure is the reason that the baby will be born early. 

With the medication I’m on lowering my pulse rate the baby is now down to the 67th percentile for weight (from 80).  He was never huge, but now he is just about right at an average weight.  If I were to go to term he would be around 8 pounds 3 ounces.  Remember when you’re guessing the birth date that I will be induced sometime around March 8th if he’s not out yet.  Guesses near the old due date will only get you burned!  The prednisone I’m on for my autoimmune disorder is what’s elevating my blood pressure and causing the increased risk of preeclampsia.  We found out this past week that I will need to take "stress steroids" via an IV throughout my labor to help my body cope with the stress of childbirth after all these months on the prednisone.  I can’t wait to have a ceremonial flushing of the prednisone down the toliet after the baby comes!

My new schedule is two non stress tests a week and one OB visit.  Tomorrow I have one of each and also my last glucose test for gestational diabetes.  Lowering the prednisone dose by half has let me pass all but my very first one (back when I was on 15 mg), so we’re hoping that tomorrow will be no different and I can squeek by without it ever developing.  Wouldn’t that be cool?!?  We’re also going to ask our OB to take a peek at my cervix and see if I’m making any progress since I had all those contractions on Sunday.  Could be any day now–we’ll keep you updated.

Love,

Stephanie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment